If Arun was Bear Grylls….

I just spent an entire hour watching an episode of Man Vs Wild (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_vs._Wild)on Discovery channel. It is a program where the host Bear Grylls (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bear_Grylls) shows the viewers how to survive in the wilderness if ever caught in adverse circumstances. While it made a very interesting watch , I could not help but think the whole time ‘Does he have a girlfriend / wife? How on earth does she feel about him doing such dangerous stuff for a living?’ . Maybe thought and spoken like a wife, but I googled and sure enough he is married with sons.Led to me thinking, what if Arun came home one day and told me he wanted to be like Bear Grylls?

My first reaction would be is to have an heart attack. Then I would scream , fight, cry etc etc begging him to rethink before I would eventually give in to his desire. But I can sleep in peace tonight and for every following nights cause knowing Arun, he would never say something like this in a million years. And thank God for that.

My point here is, I think it is very important that a husband and wife knows about the field their spouse is working in. I think it benefits if both of them belong to a same field of work. For example, I think the late Steve Irwin (the crocodile hunter guy) could could not have had fun in what he did had his wife not been the outdoor type and joined him in his expeditions. There are of-course a lot of  exceptions to my theory. But in all such cases, it is important that the spouse understands the field he / she works in and the challenges that come along with it.

I think marrying someone also includes marrying their work, likes, dislikes etc.Its a whole package. If one does not respect and understand what the spouse does for a living, I think it becomes difficult to respect the person which in turn can screw up a marriage.

When you love a person, start loving what they do as well.

2 thoughts on “If Arun was Bear Grylls….

  1. Ka, If Arun anna becomes Bear Grylls, you’d become popular too! there’d be some Angela somewhere in the world googling about your lives and writing a post! How cool is that!

Leave a Reply

