My wish for the world… No Religion

If I was granted one wish, this is perhaps what I would wish for. That the concept of religion would disappear from this world. Mind you, personal faith should exist but the concept of religion should disappear. What has religion brought to us in the last couple of decades? Division, Fight, Terrorism, Forced Conversations, Hatred etc. Where is love? Is it anywhere in the picture? Isn’t love the basis of any religion?

The world calls me a Christian but I call myself a follower of Lord Jesus Christ. Yes, I am proud of that fact and yes, I want others to know about the Lord. But that does not mean I go killing people for that or that I go abusing people or consider them in any way inferior to me. Writing all this, I kind of feel this post is gonna end up in a lot of controversy but that’s OK. This is what is in my heart right now.

I’m writing this after watching on TV that the killers of Graham Staines and his two kids have been given a life sentence and not a death sentence. But what broke my heart was the fact that the advocate fighting for the cause of the accused, (Dara Singh) said that the accused just wanted to teach Graham Staines a lesson for converting people into Christianity. He used the word ‘Forced Conversion’ . I personally believe that was not the actual case (but that’s just my opinion. You are welcome to have yours).Now, if my opinion is making you uncomfortable , you are exactly who I am addressing this post to.

I don’t know how it is in countries like America and UK but where I live, every form that we fill, has a column for religion. Why should schools know what religion I belong to? Are they gonna teach me subjects depending on what religion I follow? Why should hospitals know what religion I belong to? Does my blood depend on it? Why should offices know what religion I belong to? Why should the concept of a community certificate exist? These are questions that I want to question back.

To address the concept of forced conversions, what bothers you? That the people are getting ripped off or is the reason anything else. If the people are your concern, killing the converter is not a solution I see. The truth is, most of us are too filled with arrogance and pride to think clearly. To me, love is the solution. Love one another. If we really want the world to be a better place, we gotta start by loving our neighbor.We gotta start respecting each other’s likes and dislikes. We gotta start by helping those in need on the streets. We gotta start by not wanting to climb up a ladder by stepping on someone’s shoes.We gotta start living honestly.

So this is what I wish for the world. The word and concept of religion should die.Instead, personal faith and respect for fellow human beings should rule our life.

11 thoughts on “My wish for the world… No Religion

  1. “been given a life sentence and not a death sentence.” Hello miss follower of jesus christ , 🙂 where is the forgiveness that christ asked u to show to ur enemies ?

    A person told 50 yrs back. (this is not fr u but fr fanatics)
    “If god is the root cause for our degradation, destroy that god. If it is religion, destroy it. If it is Manu Darma, Gita, or any other Mythology (Purana), burn them to ashes. If it is temple, tank, or festival, boycott them. Finally if it is our politics, come forward to declare it openly”

      • so in hanging those ppl we will get justice ? arent we supposed to believe in heaven and hell ? who are we to punish a fellow human being ? dont we preach that judgment is from the lord??

      • Point 1: “I’m writing this after watching on TV that the killers of Graham Staines and his two kids have been given a life sentence and not a death sentence.”

        Sounds like you wanted the court to give a death sentence. Is that what christ would has wanted for those me ? I dont remember christ preaching hand for hand or life for life. In fact i think he preached the opposite.

        Point 2: Just like how abortion is wrong, even death sentence is wrong. Who are we to decide who should live and who should die ? I am not against punishment. But i dont think that any human being should have the right to decide if a person should live or die!!! That to me is tooo much power and abuses the purpose of god’s creation.

  2. We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another.
    One can live without religion and meditation, but one cannot survive without human affection.

  3. Interesting post! I consider myself a ‘believer’ but I’m not religious (to me, religion is defined by rituals or acts that are followed, such as prayer recitations). I don’t feel that any religion was based on hate, but some people have interpreted it that way. Religion itself isn’t the problem, people acting upon radical views have created the problems.

    I’m Christian, but I have known people that are of other faiths – I had no desire to beat them into submission (or worse)!

    P.S. In America, religion is on the short list of things employers can’t ask you about during an interview, and I have never seen it on any forms I’ve had to fill out.

  4. I agree that religion is a source of many things that are not quite, at least in Christianity, what God intended. All of who we are to be and what we are to do hinges on one simple concept: love. With that, all other things fall neatly into place. Most times when people argue religion and rituals, it is not about defending God but about defending their right to be right. It’s time we give that up and let people decide for themselves.

    • p.s. Whoops! Let me clarify my first sentence. There are some things that people do to misrepresent the Christian faith, and therefore pervert its true meaning.

Leave a Reply

