Why I like ‘liking’

There are times when I feel very vocal and I want to make comments about things I read.But then there are times when I wish to be quite.And those are the times that made me fall in love with ‘liking’.

Reasons why I click on the ‘like’ button.

  1. I really like what I read.
  2. I think what is written is funny.
  3. I want to acknowledge that I read something.
  4. I can’t think of something witty to reply to someone and hence I simply ‘like’ what they said.

Out of the top few reasons, reason 1 is why I mostly ‘like’ articles.But I cannot deny the fact that reason 4 closely competes with that.I have become so accustomed to ‘liking’ things I read, that my mind automatically scans a page or website to find the familiar ‘like’ button.At times even before I read the article.Such is my addiction.

When I read really good articles, I have wished that the ‘like’ button would let me ‘like’ the article as many times I want.Cause just one like does not seem to do justice.Maybe it will come up in future.And we will be able to mention how many likes we wanna give. Oh wait, thats the star concept.(you can find it at the end of this blog).

Did you know that the ‘like’ button on Facebook was previously named ‘Awesome’? . For a more detailed history of the like button, check out here. Anyway, I’m not sure if I would have liked the ‘Awesome’ button as much as the ‘like’ button had it stayed. Wow, it is kinda scary to know that Facebook team knows what I may like. 😮 .

Now, I hope you don’t start thinking what could be the reason when I ‘like’ something you write.It could be reason 1 or it could be reason 5.(Don’t look up.I din’t mention it cause it is a secret reason).

So, why do you ‘like’ things?

9 thoughts on “Why I like ‘liking’

  1. How’d you get the stars on your blog?? I haven’t figured out how to do that….and it’d be really nice! I mostly “like” posts when I can’t think of what to say. Otherwise, I usually comment! (You’ve probably noticed this, right?) 😉

    -Tia

  2. Oh really Dorcas, I completely agree with you about the “Like” button… However I do have to add that the meaning behind the “Like” button is completely lost after random people just keep liking random pages!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

Leave a Reply

