CMB series : Chapter 3 – Your Knight/Princess has more often than once, been a peasant.

Have you ever noticed, how in your dating period, your boyfriend always seem to be the tall, handsome and most courageous person you’ve ever known. I’m sure guys feel the same way (in a opposit sense..ummm.. you know what I mean) about their girlfriend.If you havn’t noticed yet, think for a minute.Think about the stories you’ve heard about your boyfriend/girlfriend from themselves.Aren’t they all stories in which they have always emerged as the hero most of the times?

My hubby is a Basketball player and somehow, I have not watched him play a match, even once.I know he is an awesome player and quite a popular one in college too. I’ve heard stories of how he scored, how his team won and lost some crucial championships.Now,I’ve known my hubby for quite a few years and in most of those years we’ve been best buddies.But only recently did I hear him talk about a match that he sat out.Now, you see? My prince had been a peasant once.

Make me think about myself.I can name a million things that Arun knows about me now that he did not know before we were married.Incidents that make me look more like a peasant than the princess he (hopefully) thought I was.One example would be the way I look when I get up in the morning :).I was never a ‘make up’ person but I am sure I looked better outdoors than how I looked when I wake up.

Talking about the the stories we tell each other, it reminds me of the times, me and my friends used to wonder if whether we will ever run out of topics to talk with our spouse.After these many years of knowing Arun, I think I can safely say that I don’t think so.Cause, we still tell each other stories about ourselves that the other person do not know. Or maybe, both of us are just good story tellers. 🙂

Coming back to our CMB series, its really nice that we discover the peasant side of our spouse.What is even more nice is that our spouse choose to reveal that side to us.It means they are comfortable enough to share that part of life with us.It just makes them more normal.Makes them more like us. What say?

For more of my Changed Marriage Brings (CMB) series, check out chapter 1(Impression) here and chapter 2(Patience)here.

3 thoughts on “CMB series : Chapter 3 – Your Knight/Princess has more often than once, been a peasant.

  1. The longer spouses are together, the more defenses will be let down and vulnerability will emerge. I think that’s natural and I’m glad that you and your hubby are learning more about each other and enjoying the company as royalty-turned-peasants should 🙂

  2. Pingback: CMB Series : FiGHtS « Escape Route

  3. I like this! You expressed the meaning of unconditional love and regard. I love how you always speak highly of your marriage. That is so encouraging. You need to spread some of that gold marriage dust here in the U.S. Marriage has become so degraded here. I pray for many more good years for you and your Prince!

Leave a Reply

