Niagara- As seen from my eyes….

Just back from my trip to Toronto, Canada and my mind is fresh with with many breath-taking scenes and sights.So, this is me, trying to make you see what I saw.

Toronto, Ontorio

Toronto as a city, reminded me so much of India.Lots of Indian restaurants (my hubby was one happy guy there :)),lots of Asians and amazing places to visit. The city is quite a bit of a tourist hub and can get really crowded on weekends.Navigating is a lot easier with a GPS. After spending 3 days in the city, I’ve kinda realized that people there are not very honest. Could be just that it is a tourist spot and hence it is easy to take people for a ride or maybe it was just our experiance but I think you need to watch out for yourself.(Hey! Sorry to offend Toronto guys out there).Quite a big city surrounded by water on every side.Looks beautiful.

Niagara Falls

Niagara is an hour’s journey away from the downtown , Toronto. But on crowded days, the journey can take up to 3 hours. So be warned. But, what ever be the crowd, Niagara is well worth the countless hours of traffic on the road.You can read all about it and see for yourself here.Niagara is on the Canadian-US border. The falls itself is on the US side but Canada definitely boasts of a better view and experience of the falls.

The falls is the US side and I am standing on the Canadian side

Niagara itself has two main falls. The smaller one called the Bridal Veil and the huge one called the Horse shoe Falls. Bridal veil actually is huge but smaller compared to the Horse shoe falls.The falls reminded me so much of the power that water has.Reminded me of how small I was compared to this huge natural fall.Reminded me of how creative God must be. The whole time we were there, we could see the rainbow over the HorseShoe falls and I couldn’t help but think, that God was displaying his creation at his best just for me to see.

The Bigger Horshoe Falls

The Bridal Veil... More rocky than the other

Couple of must do things at the Niagara are the Maid of the Mist ride and the Journey behind the falls walk.Maid of the mist is a boat ride that takes you right up to the foot of the falls so you an actually feel the height and the force of the falls. Journey behind the falls is a walk through a tunnel that takes your right up to the falls midway.You can hear the water gushing all around you. An amazing experience I say.Maid of the mist is available on both canadian and US side but the journey behind the falls is available in the canadian side.

Maid of the mist boat ride that takes us right to the falls.

Journey behind the falls walk that takes us right besides the Horse shoe Falls.

I must warn you about the various tours being offered around Niagara. Beware of information centers. As usual, Arun and I stepped into an information center first and we were told that everything around the city is very expensive. We were told that every place that we wanted to visit were far off and that each included a parking fee of 30 dollars etc etc. And for an amount of 100 dollars per person, they would take us on  a tour. Since it was very crowded that day, we almost took it up. But thankfully, the moment we stepped out on our own, we realized what a bunch of liars they were. We ended up paying 10 dollars for parking the whole day and almost every place was walk-able.See what I mean by people were not quite honest there?

Niagara is too good an opportunity to miss and I am glad that I had a chance to see this magnificent scenic beauty. So, I present to you, THE NIAGARA…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Niagara- As seen from my eyes….

  1. WOWIE!!!!
    Breathtaking!!! 🙂

    What’s up with blue and yellow raincoats? One on Canadian side and other on US??

    Now I can put a face to the name and a pretty one too! 🙂

  2. Is there a relation ? “lots of Asians” – “really crowded” – “people there are not very honest” 🙂

Leave a Reply

