I, Me and Myself.

When looking at group pictures that include me, my eye always goes to my picture first. I check my dress, I check to see if I look nice, I check to see if I look fat etc. Only when I am completely satisfied about my appearance in the picture, do my eyes scan the others in the picture. This is my regular habit and I am not worried about me being self-centered with this habit cause almost everyone I know , does the same.

But what I did not know, was that, this habit does not limit itself to just pictures.Let me explain what happened. A blog friend of mine is doing a series of interviews with her blog buddies and featuring them on her blog. And mine was one. You can catch my interview here. At the end of the interview, were few kind lines that my friend had put in about me. I was excited when I read that. I was touched that I had been an inspiration to her, etc etc. I even wanted to write in telling her how much I appreciated her words 🙂 . But I did not yet.

Today, another interview was posted and to my shock, the same lines were there for the other person also.I quickly browsed through the other interviews(that I have already read before) and found the same lines for everyone..(Busted E.C 🙂 🙂 ). I was quite embarrassed at myself and really glad that I hadn’t mailed that thanking mail to her.(Maybe, procrastination isn’t all that bad 🙂 ). Anyway, the more I thought about it, the more I realized, how much attention I pay to the things that concern me.

I, Me and Myself… Is this everybody’s nightmare?

6 thoughts on “I, Me and Myself.

  1. Every blog buddy of mine is remarkable and of course an inspiration to me! And I can’t help saying that!

    What you didn’t notice is that, for each person I took pains to ask them 2 unique questions… I had to go through their entire blog, come up with something and that is not easy girl!

  2. I think it’s normal to be a bit self-absorbed/self-centered. (I’ve done exactly the same thing with photos.

    Even thought he words were similar, I bet the sentiment was was still real. It’s like when I sign Christmas cards – I can only think of a few different ways to say ‘Merry Christmas’ and ‘Happy New Year’, so there’s a lot of repetition.

    You are remarkable and unique.

  3. The interesting thing about being self-centered is that we tend to be hyper-aware of certain aspects of ourselves that others may not even pay attention to. I remember while I was in high school I had crooked teeth and used to laugh with my hand over my mouth. When I wore braces as an adult, people would tell me they didn’t even notice my teeth were crooked! Little examples like that let me know I need to “just be” and stop putting my life under a microscope because some of the things I pay attention to about myself are not even essential to my well-being. Too much work!

Leave a Reply

