CMB series: Men and Women DO NOT think alike.

Anybody married, will outright agree with me on this statement. Men and Women do not think alike. I can go a little further and say, After marriage, men will totally stop thinking about certain things. If you are a wife and you do not agree with me, your man must be the ‘one black sheep’. But I bet ya, you will be on my side sooner or later.

Gone are the days, men think of ways and means to impress you. Gone are the days, men think of doing things for you. I’ve got a bunch of young wives for my friends and every time we talk, we all agree on the things we say. It’s pretty much like, men are the same universally. They think food magically appears on the table, dishes wash themselves, the house cleans itself and that they are lions. Of course, the last one is pretty much applicable to all of my hubby’s friends.(NO guys, this does not mean I accept you are all lions. It is far from that.)

After dinner, if there are a lot of dishes to be washed, hubby always feels bad for me and comes close to my side and sweetly says ,’You can do it tomorrow’. Oh yea, you heard it right. It’s not  ‘I’ll help you’, or ‘Let me do some dishes’ but ‘You can do it tomorrow morning.’ . I always found this little hilarious. But what I found out was that my hubby was not the only one who says this. The other ‘lions’ say the same to their wives.

At times, I have spent sleepless hours obsessing over words I have said to hubby, thinking that perhaps he had misunderstood what I meant. But hubby would happily sleep through the night. And the next morning, hubby will have no recollection of what I had said. See what I mean by men don’t think?. I found quite a number of wives who agreed with me on this. The truth is, I guess, we women think a lot. And we think a lot between the lines.So wives, take note. The next time you are worried over something you said to your hubby,fear not. Chances that your hubby did hear it, are really slim. Chances that he got offended, is like one in a  million.

While women like to mean what they say, men like to nod to what women say. I read somewhere that men nod because they agree, but because it is much easier to nod than listen to what women say and give an intelligent reply. An example conversation that we had recently went like this.

Me : Sh, blah blah…

hubby : hmmm…

Me : seems  blah blah blah

hubby : hmmm….

me : blah blah

hubby : hmmm….

……

….

hubby : What shall we do?

I was telling hubby about things that were totally not related to us and all of a sudden hubby let in this intelligent question.  And he was busted. This happens more than often at our house. I am sure that lot of women can vouch for the validity of this scenario. But what I doubt is that,any man can say the same of the wife. When women listen, they listen. They might forget later on, but at least women sincerely listen.

I’ve been accused in the past of being biased in my series towards women and rightly so too. I only talk for my kind. I have been threatened in the past that ‘lions’ will counter attack this series in their own blog, but that day remains to be seen. Like I said, only women mean what they say 🙂 🙂

Disclaimer :

  • All stories/characters featured in my CMB series are not fictional and always resemble a real person mostly alive and is entirely intentional.
  • I write based on the inputs received from friends around me.So…. RESULTS MAY VARY from your perception/ idea.
And a big hug to my hubby for being so sportive about these series. 🙂
For more of the CMB series, click here.
3 thoughts on “CMB series: Men and Women DO NOT think alike.

  1. Well, I have a different view here. 😉
    My hubby helps me in doing the dishes, as well as, in cooking too, without me telling anything! 😀 (even in cleaning the house if the servant didn’t turn up)

  2. I’m with Elegant Chic here. My husband helps around the house, although sometimes not as much as I would like. I have a full-time job, too so there’s no way I would have time to take care of the house on my own. If he thinks he’s going to get lazy after dinner, I’ll say something like, “Okay, I made the mess, you can finish cleaning it up.” I know, I’m subtle.

    P.S. – I love your disclaimers. They made me laugh 🙂

  3. “I was telling hubby about things that were totally not related to us” – maybe men dont like to listen to gossip ?

Leave a Reply

